Skip to content

11.13.09

November 13, 2009

To follow up on Claire‘s post and also prepare ourselves for epic Sonido Martines weekend

MAS CUMBIA!

  • Lily was kind enough to point out the excellent site, Cumbia Poder, which not only has great blog posts of classic cumbia, bu sweet embedded playlist for mellowing out to on a cloudy november afternoon.
  • I just noticed that one of my favorite podcasts, Beats in Space, had a special cumbia podcast in September with JD Twitch, one half of the group Optimo from Glasgow.  I’ve been really enjoying classic cumbia crossovers this week — the ska(?!) song in DJ Quantic’s mix, Juancho Vargas’ cover of “Aquarelo do Brasil” on the Cumbia Poder playlist — the best selection on this podcast, in my opinion, is “Shacalao,” Lizandro Mes y Su Conjunto’s version of Fela Kuti’s “Shakara.”  The second half of the mix is mostly familiar nueva cumbia tracks, but it brings me to…
  • Juan Data’s recent post to The Hard Data cataloging nueva cumbia artists/diggers/producers into catagories with snarky titles such as: hipster, foreigner, thirdworldist, etc.  Positivity kinda gets discarded in his dark worldview of cumbia in the digital age. Nonetheless, I think that he’s near the mark in some of his nerdy critiques… No one likes a trendster who repackages/commodifies good music displacing it from its origin or a pseudo-figurehead who rewrites a genres history to make themselves look more cool.  Politics! Not the note I wanted to end this post on.

Therefore:

Alexis

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 10:19 pm

    amorrr amorrr amorrrrr! como te voy a olvidarrrr.

    re. that beats in space show, i listened to it way back and i remember thinking wtf, how can these guys not even pronounce “cumbia” or know anything about the history/context of the music/scene, but in retrospect, that’s kinda cool. or at least interesting. it’s kinda like the polar opposite of reading juan data’s breakdown, come to think of it.

    yay for the weekend!

  2. Ernesto Priego permalink
    November 16, 2009 3:14 pm

    Thanks for sharing these links. I am glad Juan Data said it… I agree with most of what he says. I find the recent dehisotricized and decontextualized European interest in cumbia troubling to say the least. Though some may say promotion is good, a lot of the money being made from the cumbia traditional discography is not reaching the artists. I know of a guy in Hackney (London) who presses his own seven inches from illegal cumbia mp3s. This is piracy as well, except that it lacks any of the positive sides of it, by not helping the original artists sell any records (supposing they still made them).

  3. November 22, 2009 8:25 pm

    Hahaha, you got it all wrong. At no point did I mean anything I said as a critic to cumbia’s exploitation. I don’t give a fuck that people take cumbia out of context, in fact, that’s what I find the most amusing and what attracted me to this new hybrid genre in the first place. I do it too. I grew up in a totally foreign environment for cumbia, it was the music of maids and bus drivers, and now I make cumbia mixtapes with a total hipster irony point of view, digging the roots of the genre, but making fun of its tackiness at the same time. All that you read as negative on my article, I actually see as positive and fun. It’s just my cynical tone that might’ve made it sound like that.

Leave a Reply

