Skip to content

11.12.09

November 12, 2009

Halloween is pretty much my favorite day of the year. Over the years, I’ve spent way too many hours and way too much money on wonderful homemade costumes. But this year, for the first time ever, I didn’t dress up. (Even when Hurricane Michelle canceled our Halloween party in Havana, I wore my fairy wings made from stolen hangers–yes I stole hangers in Cuba! I needed a costume!) Now, this was by no means a sign of a newfound maturity nor (god forbid) lessening enthusiasm for my favorite holiday.  Rather, two friends were getting married and their wedding happened to be on October 31st.

I was a bit bummed about the scheduling conflict, but knew that it was going to be a blast. Besides, I love weddings almost as much as I love Halloween, and I did get dressed up, just fancy-style, not costume-style. I was expecting the usual open bar fun, requisite electric slide and Hava Nagila (plus some Pollera Colorá and cumbia since they’re Colombian), and new friends in tuxes. But this wedding had the. best. music. ever. Two live bands (one of them was Brooklyn-based La Cumbiamba eNeYé) plus several (ridiculous!) DJ sets by Quantic, a Cali (Colombia, not CA)-based British DJ, who I kept missing every time he came to NY. Carlos, who was also at the wedding, just sent me Quantic’s Caja y Guacharacha Mix, and I thought I’d share it with the club.

Quantic, “Caja y Guacharacha”: cumbia, puya y porro [リンク]

While I’m definitely a big fan of all the nu-cumbia stuff, Quantic is a bit of a purist, and the rawness of this mix (“a foray into Colombian music of the Atlantic coast”) is refreshing, and all the accordion is awesome!

Quantic’s wedding set was a bit more upbeat, but very much along the same vein (though he did throw in some Miami Sound Machine for the older folks). Needless to say, I danced my ass off and completely forgot about the Courtney Love costume I had stashed at coat check, just in case.

Also: a “trailer” for Quantic y Su Combo Bárbaro, his project with a full band (this music is a bit too chill/smooth for my liking, but the visuals are gorgeous):

Claire

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 4:54 pm

    ESJonh Excellent article, I will take note. Many thanks for the story!

Leave a Reply

