Skip to content

8.4.09

August 4, 2009

I haven’t had time to look into all the artist/composer/film names I took down while I was in India, but this video is the first result of my so far superficial research. The song, “Piya Tu Ab To Aaja,” was composed by the iconic beat-maker/musician R.D. Burman (R.D. = Rahul Dev), who is famous as far as Hindi movies/Bollywood are concerned, and is from the 1971 film “Caravan.”

I think he also made a lot of Hindi disco for films, so hopefully we can find some! He was one of three composers featured on a CD I saw featuring Bollywood’s beat kings. The other 2 were Kalyanji Anandji and Bappi Lahiri. Kalyanji Anandji are also a little famous in the West thanks to DJ Shadow and Dan the Automator’s album “Bombay the Hard Way,” which sampled their songs. Here is one of the best, most simple songs from that album, “My Guru.”

Andres

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

