Skip to content

5.18.09

May 18, 2009

I am spinning at a little party in Shibuya here this weekend called “Mariachi Boogie,” being thrown by this guy I met at the mini-ZZK party back in March.

So in preparation I have been scouring, among other places, Africolombia, the king of Colombian music. There is so much good music on here. And the man who runs it painstakingly copies all the record covers in addition to uploading all the music to Zshare. I was reading his post on Joe Arroyo, in which he mentions that one of his greatest hits is a song from 1986 called “Rebelión,” so I went to check it out, and here is the video:

Joe Arroyo is definitely one of Colombia’s most famous salseros. Another one of his major hits is this one from 1989. This reminds me of visiting my family in Florida and Colombia when I was a teenager.

Despite his fame and mainstream success, don’t overlook his musicianship! For more obscure tracks check Africolombia and elsewhere.

Andres

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

