Skip to content

2.2.09

February 2, 2009

los-hijos-del-sol

It’s Cumbia Night although I’ve passed from my Colombian music phase (it’ll be back) into a strange, chicha-tinged week. I got this CD yesterday called “Roots of Chicha” (Barbés Records, Brooklyn, 2007) which is kind of ridiculous. The liner notes quote from Wikipedia. But the music kind of stands on its own two feet. Anyway, these Peruvians in the 60s and 70s took Cumbia rhythms, and started their own Amazonian cumbia surf bands. Chicha is a drink made from fermented maize, big in the Amazon, and also the name of this genre of 60s/70s popular (lower class) Peruvian cumbia

[C U M B I A N I G H T]

1. Today’s Chicha selection comes from Los Hijos del Sol (pictured): “Cariñito”

2. I am also adding a “cumbia digital” song from Chancha Via Circuito (maybe you’ve heard this one…) I like this song. I got the whole album but I haven’t gotten into it all yet.
3. For good measure I will add some Colombian cumbia: this is from Viejoteca, disc 2, track 18. That’s all I know.

Lastly, a link to Vampiros Dee Jay, this awesome guy who seems to be based in Argentina now, but who I swear said he was from Peru or Bolivia up till a month ago.

Andres

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 11:40 am

    Man I’m loving those peruvian surf guitars..I like this blog , I like to drink chicha…there’s good chcha in La Candelaria …downtown Bogotá.
    Mixed with Los Destellos …mmm
    I’m working on a cover of Ojitos Hechizeros with some friends ….peruvian guitarra electrica

  2. hanainhand permalink*
    April 13, 2010 12:55 am

    Yeah, there’s a whole chicha district! I was there this summer. Would love to go back.

Leave a Reply

